Recreational Marijuana Laws

At the federal level, the sale and possession of marijuana is illegal under the Controlled Substances Act of 1970. Alaska, Colorado, the District of Columbia, Oregon, and Washington State, however, have enacted laws that legalize marijuana use for recreational purposes. In these five jurisdictions, an individual 21 years old or older can possess a limited amount of marijuana. In Alaska, Colorado, and Washington, an individual can possess up to one ounce of marijuana, in the District of Columbia, an individual can possess up to two ounces, and in Oregon an individual can possess up to eight ounces.

This map explores currently effective recreational marijuana laws, identifying which state agency regulates recreational marijuana, sale and possession restrictions, what tax rates are applied, licensing for retailers and cultivators, and other issues surrounding recreational marijuana. Read more.

This dataset is now updated at the Prescription Drug Abuse Policy System.

Quick Facts

Policy Questions