Attention: LawAtlas has moved. This archived version of LawAtlas contains some datasets pending migration. Visit us at our new location, http://lawatlas.org .

Minimum Wage Laws Map


In 1938, the US Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) instituted a nationwide minimum wage rate that sets a minimum hourly payment amount for qualified employees across the country. Established at 25 cents per hour, it has since been increased 22 times. Congress last raised the federal minimum wage rate on July 24, 2009, to $7.25, which is roughly $15,000 per year for a 40-hour work week. 

Over time the majority of states have passed their own minimum wage laws. When there is a state established minimum wage rate in addition to the federal rate, an employee will generally receive the higher of the two rates (the applicable minimum wage rate). For example, if the state rate is $7 and the federal rate is $7.25, the qualified employee would receive $7.25 per hour. 

This map displays laws effective from January 1, 1980 through April 1, 2016. Use the time slider below the map to display changes in the law over time. 

Related resources:

American Journal of Public Health: The Effect of an Increased Minimum Wage on Infant Mortality and Birth Weight

Robert Wood Johnson FoundationThe Reverberating Impact of Low Wages

Department of Labor: History of the Minimum Wage

Curator


Did you know?

Five states have no minimum wage laws: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee.


Read more
Map Legend: State Included in research.

Pick a year